South Carolina              
Administrative Law Court
Edgar A. Brown building 1205 Pendleton St., Suite 224 Columbia, SC 29201 Voice: (803) 734-0550 Fax: (803) 734-6400


Administrative Law Judges

Each of the six administrative law judges of the Court are elected by a joint session of the General Assembly for a term of office of five years. Candidates for each seat must be screened by the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and must meet the qualifications required of justices and judges set forth in Article V of the South Carolina Constitution: each candidate must be a resident of the United States and of South Carolina, be at least 32 years of age, have been licensed to practice law for a minimum of eight years, and have been a resident of South Carolina for at least five years preceding election.

Because administrative law judges exercise quasi-judicial powers, they are subject to the Code of Judicial Conduct found in Rule 501 of the South Carolina Appellate Court Rules. Additionally, because administrative law judges are "public officials" within the meaning of South Carolina's Ethics Reform Act, they are bound by these requirements as well.

Ralph K. “Tripp” Anderson, III (Seat 1, 2019) b. Florence, SC; s. Ralph K., Jr. and the late Loretta Anderson; g. Frances Marion University, B.A. cum laude, 1980; University of South Carolina School of Law, J.D., 1984; m. Linda Corley; admitted to South Carolina Bar, 1984; Assistant Attorney General for the State of South Carolina, 1984–1995; mem. Shandon Baptist Church; Alpha Tau Omega; Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society; selected as one of Francis Marion University's most distinguished alumni; elected to ALC seat no. 6, May 25, 1994, serving continuously until June 30, 2009; elected as Chief Judge May 13, 2009, serving continuously since July 1, 2009.

Milton G. Kimpson (Seat 2, 2017) b. Columbia, S.C.; s. Milton Kimpson and Wilhelmina P. Kimpson; g. Wofford College, B.S. Economics, summa cum laude, 1983; Emory University School of Law, J.D., 1986; m. Audra Sabb Kimpson; two daughters; admitted to S.C. Bar, 1986; Judge Advocate, United States Army, 1987-1991; Associate, Johnson, Toal & Battiste, P.A., 1992-1993; Partner, Gerald & Kimpson, LLP, 1994-1998; Milton G. Kimpson, P.A., 1999-2002; S.C. Department of Revenue, Staff Atty and Managing Counsel for Litigation, 2003-2010, General Counsel for Litigation, 2010-2017; mem. Saint John Baptist Church, Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity; Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity; elected to Seat no. 2, Feb. 3, 2017, serving continuously since July 3, 2017.

H.W.Funderburk, Jr. (Seat 3, 2020) b. Camden, SC; s. the late Harold W. Funderburk, Sr. and the late Mary Emma Funderburk; g. Davidson College, A.B. English, 1970; University of South Carolina, Ph.D. English, 1978; University of South Carolina, J.D., 1985; admitted to South Carolina Bar, 1985; m. Laurie Slade; Asst. Prof. of English, 1978-1979, Assoc. Prof. of English, Dept. Chairman, 1979-1982, Campbell University, Buies Creek, NC; Television Technician, 1982-1983, Partner, 1983-1985, Hall Radio and Television, Camden, SC; Staff Attorney, SC Supreme Court, 1985-1987; Harvey & Battey, PC, Beaufort, SC, 1987-1988; South Carolina Employment Security Commission, Staff Counsel, 1988-1995, General Counsel, 1995-2010; Partner, Books on Broad, 2012--; elected to ALC seat no. 3, February 4, 2015, for term beginning July 1, 2015, serving continuously since.

Deborah Brooks Durden (Seat 4, 2020) b. 1961 in Columbia, SC; d. John Joseph Brooks, Sr. and Jane Brooks; g. Columbia College, B.A. English, magna cum laude; University of South Carolina School of Law, J.D.; m. W. Kevin Durden; 3 children; Order of the Wig and Robe; American Jurisprudence Awards in evidence and estate planning; Law clerk to the Honorable Karen Hunt, Alaska Superior Court Judge; Law Clerk to the Honorable John Reese, Alaska Superior Court; Faulkner, Banfied, Doogan & Holmes, Anchorage, Alaska, 1993–1994; Gergel, Nickles & Grant, 1994–1997; South Carolina Department of Transportation, Assistant Chief Counsel, 1998–2009; admitted to South Carolina Bar 1992; admitted to Alaska bar 1993; Girl Scout leader; member Trenholm Road United Methodist Church; elected to ALC seat no. 4, February 11, 2009, serving continuously since.

Shirley Canty Robinson (Seat 5, 2018) b. 1951 in Greeleyville, SCg. University of South Carolina, B.S., 1984; University of South Carolina School of Law, J.D., 1990; admitted to South Carolina Bar, 1991; Assistant 8th Circuit Solicitor, 1991–1992; Executive Director, SC Legislative Black Caucus, 1992–1994; Associate, Law Offices of Newman & Sabb, 1995–2000; Hearing Advisor, S.C. Department of Labor Licensing & Regulation, 2000–2009; elected to ALC seat no. 5, May 13, 2009, serving continuously since.

Sebastien Phillip (“Phil”) Lenski (Seat 6, 2016) b. 1963 in Iola, KS; s. Dr. Frank X. Lenski, Jr. and Carol Lenski; g. University of Denver, B.A. cum laude, 1986; Emory University School of Law, J.D., 1989; m. Laura Brant; three sons; admitted to South Carolina Bar, 1995; admitted to Colorado Bar, 1989; Judge Advocate, United States Army, 1990–1995; Assistant General Counsel for South Carolina Department of Insurance 1996–1997; Assistant General Counsel for South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, 1997–2002; Counsel to Clerk of South Carolina Senate, 2002–2005; Senior Staff Attorney to South Carolina Senate Judiciary Committee, 2005–2010; mem. St. Joseph Catholic Church; Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society; mil. serv.: U.S. Army and U.S. Army Reserves 1983– ; service in Kuwait and Iraq, 2003; elected to ALC seat no. 6, February 3, 2010, serving continuously since.

Back to Top

Brown Bldg.






Copyright © 2021 South Carolina Administrative Law Court